A little kitchen DIY

So to be honest…I HATE my kitchen. I know hate is a strong word, but I have never liked it since we bought the house, but there is not much we can do about it short of spending thousands of dollars to renovate, and considering we would like to re-build one day, it just does not make sense. So until we win the lottery I am stuck with my very small gully kitchen. I mean it does the job, it’s just small, narrow and is difficult with more than one person in it. But enough about me venting about my kitchen…here’s what I did to give it a bit more character and make me like it a little bit more.

IMG_7183
Before we shifted in

The kitchen is grey – everything is grey, cupboards and shelves…it was just very blah.  So I decided to paint out three of our cupboards using chalkboard paint. This stuff is awesome. Turn any surface into a chalkboard, not only very cool, but practical in a kitchen for recipes, lists, inspiration, reminders…it goes on and on. And I know the kids will love it one day.

So easy to use and for less than $30NZD I gave my kitchen the face lift it needed, for now. Be sure when you are using chalkboard paint to follow all instructions and paint in a well-ventilated area. I chose to be outside due to the gorgeous weather and had no problems with smell or fumes. Make sure the surface you are painting is clean and free from dirt – it is best to use a primer, especially if the material is a porous type. As the cupboard doors were already painted I did not need to prime and just ensured they were clean from kitchen grease and grime. FullSizeRender-5FullSizeRender-4

 

 

 
I grabbed a small roller and tray and covered the surface evenly with the paint. It will need two coats, but allow at least 2 hours of drying time in between. IMG_8876This makes sure you have a nice clean surface in the end. The actual painting took me no time at all, 15 minutes maybe. Super easy. It’s the drying time that takes forever, or so it seems. The paint goes on really smoothly and did not leave sticky air bubbles as some other paint sometimes does. Be sure to use a roller though so you do not get brush marks on your finished product. Once the doors were painted with two coats, I left them over night to cure and be completely dry before putting them back up. The final step is prepping them as chalkboards. You need to wait 48 hours for this step to ensure the paint is completely cured. When ready to use take a piece of chalk and completely cover the boards with it – just use the flat side and shade it on. Then take a damp cloth and wipe to remove. This will help to ensure that your first chalk writings do not stay permanently on the paint – a very important step! Now you are good to go and make use of your amazing creation.

FullSizeRender-6
A much needed make over gives the whole kitchen a lift with chalkboard paint.

This paint is water based and safe for kids to use as well, so get your crafty thinking caps on and think of some amazing DIY projects you can do with the kids at home. Have fun!

 

Leave a Reply

